New British parliament boasts of record 15 Indian MPs


After a landslide victory for the Conservatives on Thursday at the first Winter election since 1923, there was also another reason to rejoice for Indian-origin MPs.

The new parliament has been described as the most diverse ever, with one in 10 MPs from an ethnic minority background.

Reports say that Gagan Mohindra and Claire Coutinho for the Conservative Party, Navendru Mishra for Labour and Munira Wilson for the Liberal Democrats, were some of the names in the list.

Other Indians a part of the newly appointed parliament include cabinet ministers Priti Patel, Rishi Sunak and Alok Sharma. Meanwhile, Sailesh Vara clinched the North West Cambridgeshire seat, along with Goan-origin Suella Braverman grabing the Fareham seat.

In the Labour party, Navendru Mishra, Preet Kaur Gill, Virendra Sharma and Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi will all be sitting in the House of Commons. Others also named were Lisa Nandy, Seema Malhotra and Valerie Vaz.

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!