STAR & ZEE lead Apsara TV nominations


Known as the Indian Oscars, Apsara Awards organised by the Film and Television Producers Guild of India has announced its list of nominations.


In its second year of existence, STAR Network and ZEE TV’s shows dominate the nominations of this year’s ceremony.

Varun Badola of Astitva Ek Prem Kahani, Sudhir Pandey (Kareena Kareena) both on ZEE TV are nominated for Best Actor. Ronit Bose Roy of STAR Plus’ Kyunki Saans Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi and Sony’s Apoorva Agnihotri in Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin are also nominated for the same award.

Nikki Aneja Walia who plays Simran in Astitva Ek Prem Kahani is fighting for the award of Best Actress alongside Mona Singh who plays the lead role in Jassi on Sony. STAR’s three leading ladies from its sitcoms Sarabhai vs Sarabhai, Shanno Ki Shaadi and Instant Khichdi have also been nominated.

In the Best Ensemble category, Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin will be competing with the likes of ZEE TV’s political drama Sarrkar and STAR’s Baa Bahoo Aur Baby, Sarabhai vs Sarabhai and Millee.

For the top gong of Best TV Drama, the following have been nominated: ZEE TV’s Sarrkkar and Astitva Ek Prem Kahani. Sony’s Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin and Sahara One’s Woh Rehne Wali Mahlon Ki and STAR One’s Siddhanth. Surprisingly no STAR Plus dramas have been nominated here.

Best Comedy Series nominations are as follow: STAR leads four of the five spaces in this category with its Instant Khichdi, Sarabhai vs Sarabhai, The Great Indian Laughter Challenge, The Great Indian Comedy Show being up for the gong. ZEE TV’s Kareena Kareena is the only other comedy fighting for the award.

Other nominations for the awards are:

Best Director

Thamra Nedungadi & Bhooshan Patel – Remix
Deven Bhojani – Sarabhai vs Sarabhai
Kaushik Ghatak & Sujeet Singh – Woh Rehne Wali Mahlon Ki
B.P. Singh – C.I.D Special Bureau 111
Raman Kumar – Millee

Best Musical Show

Fame Gurukul (Sony)
Indian Idol (Sony)
Nach Baliye (STAR)
Hero Honda Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Challenge 2005 (ZEE)
Sansui Antakshari (ZEE)

Best Sports Show

Dream Job – Harsha Ki Khoj (ESPN STAR Sports)
Cricket Controversies (NDTV)
ESPN School Quiz (ESPN STAR Sports)
Match Ke Mujrim (STAR News)
Challenger Trophy 2005, Mohali (ZEE Sports)

Best Title Song

Sarabhai vs Sarabhai
Nach Baliye
Kaisa Yeh Pyaar Hai
Kareena Kareena

Best News Anchor

Shekhar Suman (STAR)
Barkha Dutt (NDTV)
Vikram Chandra (NDTV)
Rajdeep Sardesai (IBN)
Sonali Chander (NDTV)

Best Animated Series

Pet Alien
Jakers! The Adventures of Piggley Winks
Jungle Tales
J Bole Toh Jadoo

Film nominations (from IBN Live)

While Vidhu Vinod Chopra’s Parineeta leads the race with 14 nominations including best film, best actor and best actress, Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Black has eleven nominations.

“I wish all the best to Pradeep Hirani, Sudhir Mishra, Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Pradeep Sarkar but I will still stay in the race,” filmmaker Vidhu Vinod Chopra said.

Also in the favourites list is Suhdir Mishra’s social drama Hazaron Khwaisein Aisi with seven nominations including best film, best story and best lyrics.

“When people like a film like Hazaron it pleases me because normally people tend to segregate such movies as art films. And so they get sidelined. But I want my film to be seen in the same multiplex as Bunty Aur Babli,” filmmaker Sudhir Mishra said.

While actors Shah Rukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan vie for the best actor trophy for Swades and Parineeta respectively, they face tough competition from actor Amitabh Bachchan who has been nominated for Black.

And its double whammy for actress Rani Mukherjee who has been nominated for Black and Hum Tum in the best actress category.

The other nominees include debutants Vidya Balan and Chitrangada Singh.

The results will be announced at a glittering ceremony on Saturday 21st January 2006.

Latest From Related Articles

Vivek Oberoi to star in web-series based on Swami Vivekananda’s life

Eros International joins hands with Kyta Productions for ‘Pataakha’ & ‘Kirik Party’

Akshay Kumars New Band

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!