Fourteen Pakistani channels broadcasting “illegally” in India

Raj Baddhan

Senior Editor


Fourteen TV channels from Pakistan have been included in a list of 24 channels, which security agencies in India have identified as ‘not conducive to the security environment in the country’.

The list, which has been published today includes PTV, PTV Home, PTV World, Geo TV, Dawn, Express, Waqat, QTV, Madni TV, Noor TV, Hadi TV, Aaj, Filmax and STV. The non-Pakistani channels included Peace TV, ARY TV and XYZ TV.

The report concluded that the content of some of these channel posed a potential security hazard.

The Indian government has proposed certain amendments in the Cable TV Networks (Regulation) Act 1995 to deal with carriage of illegal channels and to make their transmission a cognizable offence. The Standing Committee on Information Technology has already submitted its report on this bill to the Parliament.

Extracts from IndianTelevision