Ofcom halts local TV licences in 13 UK areas


Ofcom has confirmed that it will not be advertising anymore local TV licences, owing to financial issues some of the existing local broadcasters are facing.

It said in a statement, “We published a consultation on 20th April 2018 on our provisional decision not to advertise or re-advertise local TV licences for 13 specific areas, or substitute areas, where no licence has been awarded to date.

Having considered all the consultation responses, we confirm our provisional decision. The consultation has confirmed that continuing to require the extension of the local TV transmission network to these locations or substitute areas, as previously planned, would have an adverse impact on the economic viability of the local TV sector.”

These 13 locations are: Bangor, Kidderminster, Bromsgrove, Stratford-upon-Avon, Barnstaple, Limavady, DerryLondonderry, Inverness, Luton (Bedford + Luton), Plymouth, Stoke on Trent, Gloucester (Gloucester + Malvern + Hereford), Forth Valley. This Ofcom decision releases Comux from its obligation to build the transmitter infrastructure in these locations.

Latest From Related Articles

NTV Europe hits back at BARB after exiting in August

Overnights: Star Plus extends lead over rivals on Tuesday in UK

ZEE Entertainment’s promoters to sell up to 50% stake

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!