More names added to ZEE’s cricketing team


The ZEE Network floated rebel cricketing team called Indian Cricket League (ICL) has added more than 40 names to its long list of players.

Amongst the top names in the scintillating list are Inzamam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq, Imran Farhat, Klusener, Boje and a selection of Indian players including Dinesh Mongia, Deep Dasgupta, Jai P Yadav and T Kumaran, all former Indian cricketers.

According to NDTV, Kapil Dev has been appointed as the ICL Executive Board Chairman while Erapalli Prasanna has also joined the rebel league’s executive board.

Speaking at the press conference, the former Indian captain said the recruits were free to play for India whenever they want to.

Brian Lara, the former West Indies captain, had been named as an ICL player last month.

The surprise name from Pakistan, although, is Mohammad Yousuf who had a brilliant 2006, when he scored 9 Test centuries and set a new record for most runs scored in a calendar year.

The two South Africans in question are Lance klusener, who is without doubt past his prime and Nicky Boje, who could have trouble playing in India as he had opted out of a tour to India three years ago because of match-fixing allegations.

The ICL has announced plans to expand it from the initial six to a 12-team format within the next three years and the league would feature teams like Bombay Jets and Madras Heat.

The ICL team so far:

Indian players: Rayudu, Abbas Ali, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Abhishek T, Alfred Francis, Ali Murtaza, Abhishek Yadav, Deep Das Gupta, Devendran, Dheeraj Jadhav, Dinesh Mongia, Hemant Kumar, Chandrashekhar Reddy, Ishan Malhotra, J Harish, Jai Prakash Yadav, Kaushik Reddy, Laxmi Rattan Shukla, Manish Sharma, Mohammad Ibrahim, Manish Mishra, Pushkraj Joshi, R Sathish, Rajesh Sharma, RR Patil, Reetinder Sodhi, Robin Morris, Sachin Dholpure, Sarabhjeet Singh, Syed Akhalikh, Shalabh Srivastava, Sreesant Nag, Shiv Sagar Singh, Shreyas Khandolkar, Subhajit Paul, Subramoy Das.

Pakistani players: Inzamam-ul Haq, Imran Farhat, Abdul Razzaq and Mohammad Yousuf.

South African players: Lance Klusener and Nicky Boje.

Latest From Related Articles

Eros International joins hands with Kyta Productions for ‘Pataakha’ & ‘Kirik Party’

Akshay Kumars New Band

Sriram Raghavan on casting ‘AndhaDhun’: “We didn’t think of Ayushmann”

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!