ZEE’s Indian Cricket League teams confirmed


The much awaited Indian Cricket League (ICL) have named the players of the six teams that will compete in its first tournament starting Friday 30th November at Panchkula near Chandigarh.

“We are thrilled to make this announcement as we reckon this is the most important piece of information before the tournament begins,” Kapil Dev, chairman of the ICL executive board, said while announcing the names here.

The tournament, a brainchild of Subhash Chandra, will have 20 matches and the final is slated for Dec 16 at the Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Panchkula. The winning team will receive USD 1 million.

Besides Kapil, ICL has signed in Kiran More, Sandeep Patil, former England skipper Tony Greig and ex-Australia batsman Dean Jones, among others, for the tournament.

Making the announcement Kapil said, “We have ensured the teams are balanced in every way and receive best facilities in terms of coaching, showcasing their talent and exposure to international cricket.”

Each team will have five international players besides a dedicated support staff consisting of a coach, a trainer, a physiotherapist, a dietician and a media manager.

Practice matches will be held at the Tau Devilal Stadium in Chandigarh, Lahari Resorts in Hyderabad/Chennai, CCFC Club in Kolkata, Teri Oval in Gurgaon, and Railway Grounds, Lower Parel, in Mumbai.

The matches will be telecast on ZEE Sports in India (and on ZEE TV in the UK).

ICL will start with the Twenty20 format and progress to the 50 over format.

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!