SRK, Madhuri Dixit & Anil Kapoor invited to The Academy


Anil Kapoor, Madhuri Dixit and Shah Rukh Khan are amongst 20 other Indian personalities who have been invited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

As well as these three names, Madhabi Mukherjee, Soumitra Chatterjee, Naseeruddin Shah, Ali Fazal and Tabu are the Indian actors on the list, while Aditya Chopra and Guneet Monga are the Indian producers selected. Cinematographer Anil Mehta, costume designers Dolly Ahluwalia and Manish Malhotra, sound designers Debajit Changmai and Biswadeep Chatterjee, production designers Subrata Chakraborty and Amit Ray, music composers Usha Khanna and Sneha Khanwalkar and film editor Ballu Saluja have also been sent an invite.

Last year Aamir Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Irrfan, Amitabh Bachchan, Deepika Padukone, Aishwarya Rai, Mrinal Sen and Goutam Ghose and Sooni Taraporevala were invited by The Academy from India.

“It’s interesting that though (past Indian) winners were Indian, it was for their work in international films — largely about India, but not made by India. For a global community like India to be represented on a larger scale, I think it will have to move beyond a single award for all foreign language films. It is very rare to see foreign language films represented in the other categories,” Chopra was quoted as saying by TheQuint after accepting the invitation.

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!