• The much hyped Filmfare Awards, now in its 50th year, were held on Saturday in Mumbai and Biz Asiahas all the latest from the night.

As expected ShahRukh Khan and Rani Mukherjee walked away with two of the show’s top gongs for their performances in Swades and Hum Tum respectively. ShahRukh won the Best Actor award and Rani the best Best Actress. Last year’s huge hit Veer Zaara also won top prize for Best Film. Romantic comedy Hum Tum’s director Kunal Kohli grabbed the award for Best Director.

A big surprise winner of the night was the movie Yuva, which won the most awards- an amazing six! Followed by Hum Tum with five and Veer Zaara with four.

The full list of winners are as follow:

Best Film


Best Director

Kunal Kohli (Hum Tum)

Best Actor

Shahrukh Khan (Swades)

Best Actress

Rani Mukherjee (Hum Tum)

Best Actor in a supporting role

Abhishek Bachchan (Yuva)

Best Actress in a supporting role

Rani Mukherjee (Yuva)

Best Performance in a comic role

Saif Ali Khan (Hum Tum)

Best Performance in a villainous role

Priyanka Chopra (Aitraaz)

Best Music

Anu Malik (Main Hoon Na)

Best Lyrics

Javed Akhtar (Tere Liye – Veer – Zaara)

Best Male Playback

Kunal Ganjawala (Bheegey Honth Tere – Murder)

Best Female Playback

Alka Yagnik (Saanso Ko Saanso Mein – Hum Tum)

R.D Burman award

Kunal Ganjawala

Life Time Achievement Award

Rajesh Khanna

Sony Scene of the Year Award

Hum Tum

Best Debutant

Ayesha Takia (Taarzan – The Wonder Car)

Best Choreography

Prabhu Deva (Main Aisa Kyon – Lakshya)

Best Movie Critics

Mani Ratnam (Yuva) & Govind Nihalani (Dev)

Best Actor Critics

Pankaj Kapoor (Maqbool)

Best Actress Critics

Kareena Kapoor (Dev)

Best Filmfare Power Award

Shahrukh Khan

Best Film Award of 50 years

Ramesh Sippy (Sholay)

Best Story

Aditya Chopra (Veer-Zaara)

Best Dialogue

Aditya Chopra (Veer-Zaara)

Best Sound Design

Yash Raj (Dhoom)

Best Screenplay

Mani Ratnam (Yuva)

Best Art Direction

Sabu Cyril (Yuva)

Best Action

Vikram Dharma (Yuva)

Best Background Score

A R Rahman (Swades)

Best Cinematography

Christopher Popp (Lakshya)

The awards, this year, celebrating their 50th year in a glittering ceremony took place at MMRDA grounds in Mumbai earlier today.

Bollywood’s best and brightest ? Dev Anand, Sharmila Tagore, Shammi Kapoor, Rekha (pictured), Javed Akhtar, Shabana Azmi, Shatrugan Sinha, Karan Johar, Farhan Akhtar, Kajol, Mahima Chowdhury, Manisha Koirala, Kareena Kapoor ? were all part of the audience thronging the venue, as were political heavyweights like Maharashtra Chief Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh.

The awards will be screened on Sony Entertainment Television Asia tonight at 20:00.