Sony India acquires rights for Legends League Cricket


Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) has acquired the rights for Legends League Cricket (LLC).

The tournament, which kicks off in January 2022, will be telecast on Sony TEN channels and streamed online on SonyLIV in India.

The Legends League Cricket represents India, Asia and the Rest of the World, will be played in Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman.

“We are extremely happy to announce this partnership with Sony Pictures Networks India. They have a very credible history of making sporting events a grand success, including the most premium T20 cricket leagues in the world. We wish to walk a long mile with them and ensure viewers are treated with a very competitive and entertaining form of Cricket,” said Raman Raheja, CEO of Legends League Cricket.

Rajesh Kaul Chief Revenue Officer, Distribution and Head – Sports Business, Sony Pictures Networks India said, “It’s a very exciting partnership to get into and having these stalwarts on the ground playing competitive cricket will definitely engage our viewers across India. Sony Sports has always served its viewers with its diverse portfolio of premier sports content and with the Legends League Cricket, we will present our viewers a great viewing experience of watching these legends in action on our sports channels.”

Legendary Amitabh Bachchan has joined Legends League Cricket as its Ambassador and will be promoting the League. The League also has former India Head Coach, Ravi Shastri as its Commissioner looking after the cricketing aspect. As a host, Oman has presented itself as a very promising destination for cricket after successfully hosting the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup matches recently.

The first season of LLC will have legendary former cricketers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, among other cricket nations divided into 3 Teams representing India, Asia, and Rest of the World. While Team India and Team Rest of the World are yet to be announced, Legends League Cricket has announced that Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga,

Misbahul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, Younis Khan and Asghar Afghan will be playing for Asia Lions.

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!