Top header Banner
Top header Banner
Middle top Banner

Sangita Myska & Mihir Bose lead winners list at Asian Media Awards 2023

LBC presenter and journalist, Sangita Myska and veteran journalist and author, Mihir Bose, topped the list of winners at the Asian Media Awards 2023.

The prestigious event, now in its 11th year, was held at the Hilton Manchester, Deansgate. It was hosted by Magic Radio presenter, Neev Spencer.

Myska, who was unable to attend the event, walked away with the Radio Presenter of the Year award for her weekend LBC radio show. Meanwhile, Bose, was given recognition for Outstanding Achievement.

Sunrise Radio won the accolade of Radio Station of the Year. Tony Lit, MBE, Sunrise Radio Managing Director commented, “Sunrise Radio, is known for its dedication to delivering captivating content, reflecting the interests and culture of its audience making it a beloved institution in the hearts of its listeners. I want to thank our listeners for their unwavering loyalty, our commercial partners for their support, my Team for all their hard work, and the Asian Media Awards for recognizing Sunrise Radio as the Radio Station of the Year 2023, it is an honor that everyone at Sunrise Radio cherishes.”

Oceanic Media, a multimedia agency based in Glasgow was named Media Agency of the Year. Sharmin Alam, Head of Business at Oceanic Media commented: “This award is recognition of the hard work and dedication of our team to deliver outstanding media solutions to our clients. In a highly competitive landscape, winning this award reaffirms our position as a key player in the industry. We owe our success to the creativity of our talented team, as well as the trust and collaboration of our clients.” was awarded Best Website.

Full winners list

Best Blog / Website

Best Podcast
Brown Gal Can’t Swim
Summaya Mughal

Best Live Event
Open Iftar 2023

Best Stage Production
Opera North

Outstanding Stage Performance
Blythe Jandoo as Louise in Gypsy

Media Agency of the Year
Oceanic Media

Creative Media Award
Plus Size Campaign: Bold & Beautiful
Anisha Vasani Creates for Amretto’s World & Nim Boutique

Best Programme / Show
Humza: Forgiving the Unforgivable
Drummer Television for BBC Three

Best TV Character
Adam Hussain
as Aadi Alahan in Coronation Street

TV Channel of the Year
Geo TV

Best Radio Show
Lyca Breakfast
Lyca Radio

Radio Presenter of the Year
Sangita Myska

Radio Station of the Year
Sunrise Radio

Regional Journalist of the Year
Mahatir Pasha
Reporter, ITN ITV News London

Outstanding Young Journalist
Raheem Rashid
Journalist, ITV News Central

Sports Journalist of the Year
Aaron Paul
Reporter, Commentator & Presenter, BBC Radio 5 Live Sport, BBC London Sport & ITV Football

Report of the Year
Windrush Repatriations
Navtej Johal for BBC News

Best Investigation
The Shamima Begum Story, Series 2 of I’m Not A Monster
Josh Baker, Joe Kent & Sara Obeidat for The I’m Not A Monster Series on BBC Sounds

Manchester Metropolitan University Journalist of the Year
Reha Kansara
Reporter, BBC Trending & BBC News

Best Video Channel
Shabaz Says

Best Newcomer
Priya Kansara

Diversity In Media Award
Sky Sports

The Sophiya Haque Services to Television & Film Award
Meera Syal

Outstanding Contribution to Media
Mihir Bose

Media Personality of the Year
Tina Daheley