Punit Goenka honoured with Business Today award

Punit Goenka
Punit Goenka

Punit Goenka, MD and CEO of leading Indian content conglomerate Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL) today received the coveted Business Today ‘Best CEO Award’ in the Media and Entertainment category for 2016. The award was presented by the Chief Guest, Hon’ble Minister of Law & Justice and Electronics & Information Technology, Government of India, Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad, Chairman & Editor-in-Chief, India Today group, Mr. Aroon Purie, & Vice Chairman, Wave group, Mr. Manpreet Chadha, at the BT Best CEO Awards ceremony which was held at the Taj Mahal Hotel in New Delhi on Saturday 17th December 2016.

Acknowledging the award, Mr. Punit Goenka, MD & CEO, ZEEL said, “My immense gratitude goes out to the eminent jury and to Prosenjit Datta and his team at Business Today for bestowing me with the prestigious BT Best CEO Award in the Media & Entertainment category. My heartiest congratulations to all the other deserving winners whose passion, focus and drive have steered their respective companies to success.”

“I accept this award with pride on behalf of our visionary Chairman, Dr. Subhash Chandra, and my team at ZEE whose dedication, hard work and support have enabled the organisation to reach newer and greater heights. We have consistently grown ahead of market, expanded our network viewership share and experienced growth of our product bouquet, both in India and internationally. As we approach our Silver Jubilee, I am confident that driven by innovation and creativity, we will move one step closer towards achieving our ambition of becoming the world’s leading media company from the emerging markets,” Mr. Goenka further added.

The methodology of Business Today’s Best CEO Awards focused on the operational performance of companies and their shareholders returns which was conducted by BT’s Knowledge support partner for the process PwC India. To arrive at the BT Best CEO Award winners for 2016, Business Today first used the BT500 list of Most Valuable Indian Companies as a base and then analysed three-year data, using parameters such as growth in total income, total shareholder returns and PBIT. Based on this analysis, an independent jury comprising renowned business leaders, Nimesh Kampani, Founder and Chairman, JM Financial Group; Kalpana Morparia, CEO of JP Morgan India; Haigreve Khaitan, Senior Partner, Khaitan & Co.; and Sri Rajan, Chairman, Bain & Co. India. then chose the final winners for this year.

A few recipients of the BT Best CEO Awards 2016 include Mr. Sunil Bharti Mittal, Chairman, Airtel, Mr. C.P.Gurnani, CEO & MD, Tech Mahindra, Mr. Sunil Duggal, CEO, Dabur India among others.

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!