Ofcom awards temporary radio licences for Ramadan

Ofcom awards Ramadan radio licences
Ofcom awards Ramadan radio licences

Media regulator has announced the 19 stations that have been awarded short-term radio restricted service licence (SRSL), while a further 14 applicants are yet to be considered for licences due to the high demand and limited of FM frequencies.

Applicants were encouraged to apply in January this year to broadcast during Ramadan between July and August. All in all, Ofcom received 81 applications for Ramadan services.

The successful applications that have been awarded licences without need for a draw are as follow:
Chris Smith Lincoln (Grange-de-Lings)
Colin Hick Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Ghulam Hussain High Wycombe
Ian Parkinson Newark, Nottinghamshire
Martin Steers Maidstone, Kent
Michael Barrett Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Michael Coles Newton Abbot, Devon
Mohammad Riaz Shah Stoke on Trent
Mohummed Sayed London – West
Momota Akter Ullah Bristol
Muhammad Ammar Khan Dudley
Rizvan Iqbal Preston
Rosma Akhtar Walsall
Sajid Quayum Glasgow
Saqib Arshad Newcastle Upon Tyne
Tanveer Ashraf Slough
Tariq Abbasi London – SE
Toby Gunter Chichester, West Sussex
Zahid Ali Edinburgh

The applications (i.e. those which were competing for a licence and/or a frequency) were included in a draw for their particular area. These draws have now been conducted, and the results are set out below. All of the applications referred to below will now be considered in accordance with our published procedures, and final approval will be subject to frequency availability:
Sayed Zafa Iqbal Blackburn
Shakila Hanif Bradford
David Harrison-Morris Walton Upon Trent, Derbyshire
Musa Kazi Dewsbury
Qamar Ali Shah Keighley
Mohammad Asif Leeds
Rivaz Laher Leicester
Muhammad Arif London – Croydon
Ruby Mahera London – Whitechapel E1
Omar Mahmood Oldham
Idrees Rashid Middlesbrough
Leon Martin Sarkar Milton Keynes
Mohammed Shabbir Sheffield
Anwarul Haq Bury

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!