ITV confirms details for ‘Indian Premier League’

Raj Baddhan

Senior Editor


ITV, the UK broadcaster for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) has confirmed full details of its coverage, which starts next week.

The Twenty20 cricket tournament gets underway on Wednesday 4th April on digital channel, ITV4. It will broadcast 72 matches live, with the remaining 4 being telecast in highlight form.

It will be the third year; ITV4 will be showing the competition with Matt Smith and Shonali Nagrani returning as main hosts. Ex-England cricketer Isa Guha, Angus Scott and Mark Pougatch will also form the presenting line-up.

Presenter Matt Smith said, “I can�۪t wait for the big hitting madness to start again. The Indian Premier League really is compulsive viewing.”

Niall Sloane, ITV’s Director of Sport, said, “The Indian Premier League never fails to enthral. It is a wonderful competition and celebration of cricket at its most vibrant.”

Regular pundits include former England captain Alec Stewart and West Indian great Clive Lloyd, alongside ex-professional Simon Hughes and a host of former England players including Mark Butcher, Dominic Cork, Vikram Solanki, John Emburey and Mark Ramprakash, casting their expert eyes over proceedings.

Major stars of the game including Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Lasith Malinga and Kumar Sangakkara will all be involved in the Twenty20 tournament as nine sides battle it out for the title.

The first game this time will feature 2011 champions Chennai Super Kings starting the defence of their title against 2010 runners-up Mumbai Indians.

Competing in the IPL this year alongside Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Pune Warriors India, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore.