Asian Media Awards 2023: Nominations list

Lakh Baddhan

Senior Editor


The organisers of the Asian Media Awards have announced the finalists for this year’s event, which takes place at Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday 27th October.

The awards celebrate journalism, radio, television, online, theatre, creative media and marketing. Five special awards will highlight the work of actors, journalists, writers and broadcasters who have helped to define the media landscape with their outstanding work. is proud once again to be nominated for the Best Website category. See full list of finalists below.

A spokesperson for the Asian Media Awards said: “The awards have celebrated some outstanding work over the past decade and helped to shine a light on some brilliant individuals from all sections within the media industry.

“This year will be no different and we look forward to welcoming colleagues from across the country to the city of Manchester in October.”

The full list of nominations for each award category

Journalist of the Year
Inderdeep Bains – Deputy Chief Reporter, Daily Mail
Rohit Kachroo – Global Security Editor, ITV News
Reha Kansara – Reporter, BBC News
Sangita Lal – Reporter, ITV News
Maryam Qaiser – Senior Journalist & Writer, Daily Mirror
Divya Talwar – Investigative Journalist, BBC News
Shehab Khan – Political Correspondent, ITV News
Darshna Soni – Communities Editor, Channel 4 News

Best Investigation
Health Inequalities – Andrew Gregory for The Guardian
Sri Lanka’s Tea Estates Investigation – Jeevan Ravindran for The Guardian
The Secret World of Trading Nudes – Monika Plaha, Ashni Lakhani and Nalini Sivathasan for BBC Panorama
Manipur Atrocities Revealed – ITN
Sexual Harassment in the Royal Navy – Daily Mail
The Shamima Begum Story – Joshua Baker for BBC Sounds
Snaptrap: Is Your Child Safe? – Charanpreet Khaira for BBC Wales

Regional Journalist of the Year
Lillie Almond – Reporter, LBC News
Kiran Sajan – Senior Reporter, Basingstoke Gazette
Sophia Seth – Reporter/Presenter/Producer, BBC South
Andrew Misra – Correspondent, ITV News Border
Raveena Ghattaura – Journalist, ITV Anglia
Mahatir Pasha – Reporter, ITV London
Rajiv Popat – Reporter, ITV Central

Sports Journalist of the Year
Shekhar Bhatia – Correspondent, Daily Mail
Isaan Khan – Reporter, Daily Mail
Aaron Paul – Presenter & Reporter, BBC 5 Live Sport
Sanny Rudravajhala – Freelance Sports Journalist
Kal Sajad – Boxing reporter, BBC Sport
Dev Trehan – Reporter & Presenter, Sky Sports

Outstanding Young Journalist
Um-E-Aymen Babar – Sports Journalist, Sky Sports
Saywah Mahmood – Data Journalist, Sky News
Amrit Singh Mann – Journalist, Sky News
Raheem Rashid – Journalist, ITV Central
Haleema Saheed – Community Reporter, Bradford Telegraph & Argus
Megan Samrai – Production Journalist, ITV Meridan
Fahad Rahman Tariq – Senior Reporter, Glasgow Live

Report of the Year
Kegworth Hotel – Reported by Darshana Soni for Channel 4 News
Heart and Soul: The Emerging Muslim Manosphere – Reported by Rahil Sheikh and Nalini Sivathasan for BBC World Service
Qawwali Music of the Soul – Reported by Raees Mahmood Khan for BBC World Service
Sidhu Moose Wala: Mystery Surrounds Killing of Punjabi Rapper a Year on – Reported by Ashna Hurynag for Sky News
The Murder of Fawziyah Javed – Reported by Yasminara Khan for BBC Newsnight
Windrush Repatriations – Reported by Navtej Johal for BBC News

Radio Presenter of the Year
Raj Baddhan
Sangita Myska
Paul Shah
Sunny and Shay

Best Radio Show
The Drive Time Show with Sonia Dutta – Sunrise Radio
Gold Breakfast – Lyca Gold Radio
Lyca Breakfast – Lyca Radio
Mango Masala – Pie Radio
The Bhangra Showdown – Sunrise Radio

Radio Station of the Year
Asian FX
Awaaz FM
Lyca Radio
Sabras Radio
Sunrise Radio

Best TV Character
Adam Hussain as Aadi Alahan – Coronation Street
Rebecca Sarker as Dr Manpreet Sharma – Emmerdale
Aaron Thiara as Ravi Gulati – EastEnders
Arsher Ali as Elder Samson – Everyone Else Burns
Arian Nik as Abdulla Khan – Count Abdulla

Best Programme/Show
Our World, Expelled from Uganda – BBC News
Count Abdulla – ITV
Humza: Forgiving the Unforgivable – BBC Three
Kaur – ITVX
The Hajj: A Journey Through Mecca – Shehab Khan for ITV News
Bend It Like Bollywood – BBC Three

TV Channel of the Year
Colors UK
Geo TV
Hum TV
Sony Entertainment Television
Utsav Plus

Print & Online Best Blog/Website
Ananya Ampersand
Binny’s Food & Travel
Continent Hop
Hyphen Online

Best Podcast
Brown Gal Can’t Swim
Masala Podcast
Positive Solace with Attika Choudhary
Two Chickpeas in a Podcast
The Bainsainye Show

Marketing & PR
Creative Media Award
Alzheimer’s Society: ‘Changing Perceptions’ Campaign
Plus Size Campaign: Bold & Beautiful
Kohinoor Basmati ‘Heritage’ Campaign
Ramadan Lights UK

Media Agency of the Year
Curzon PR
Ethnic Reach
Fantasia Advertising
Oceanic Media

Live Productions
Best Stage Production
Bombay Superstar
Patel’s Millions
The Empress
The Father and the Assassin
The ‘P’ Word
Vitamin D

Outstanding Stage Performance
Waleed Akhtar as Bilal – The ‘P’ Word
Nisha Aaliya as Laila/Bhanumati – Bombay Superstar
Parle Patel as Jayesh Patel – Patel’s Millions
Nikhil Parmar as Zayan – Invisible
Damani Irfan as Patrick Star – The SpongeBob Musical
Nuwan Hugh Perera as Samwise Gamgee – The Lord of the Rings – The Musical
Blythe Jandoo as Louise – Gypsy

Best Live Event
London Eid Festival 2023
Open Iftar 2023
Request Line
The Offbeat Sari
Voice Of Legends UK Tour 2023

Special Awards
AMA Best Newcomer

Diversity in Media Award

The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television, Film & Theatre Award

Media Personality of the Year

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award

The winners will be announced at the Asian Media Awards ceremony on Friday 27th October 2023.