Top header Banner
Top header Banner
Middle top Banner

Asian Media Awards 2020: Finalists list

The organisers of the Asian Media Awards have announced the finalists for this year’s event.

The annual ceremony, which celebrates Asian talent across various sectors of UK media, will be held digitally on Thursday 19th November.

Journalist of the Year
Imran Ali – Senior Camera Journalist, BBC News
Assed Baig – Broadcast Journalist, Al-Jazeera English
Ashish Joshi – Health Correspondent, Sky News
Nazia Parveen – North of England Correspondent, The Guardian
Ranvir Singh – Political Editor, Good Morning Britain, ITV
Anila Dhami – Freelance Journalist

Best Investigation
Covid-19 Impact on BAME Population Series
Inzamam Rashid for Sky News

Detention of People with A Learning Disability or Autism
Ashish Joshi for Sky News

Leicester Textile Workers
Reported by Amardeep Bassey, Deputy Political Editor Caroline Wheeler, Journalism student Vidhathri Matety for The Sunday Times

MP’s Racism
Reported by Shehab Khan for ITV News

Racism and Discrimination on the NHS Frontline During COVID
Reported by Emily Morgan, Producers – Roohi Hasan, Alex Cherrie, Imogen Barrer; Assistant Producers – Fred Dimbleby, Tamisha Archibald; Camera – Rob Turner; Editor – Mark Hawtin for ITV News

The Accused – Damned or Devoted
Directed and written by Mohammed Ali Naqvi, Produced by: Mohsin Abbas, Nicholas Franklin, Mohammed Naqvi, Musharraf Shah, Fiona Stourton, Brook Lapping Productions for BBC Four Storyville

The Calypso Caliphate
Poonam Taneja for BBC Sounds & BBC Asian Network

Regional Journalist of the Year
Ria Chatterjee – Journalist, ITV London
Navtej Johal – Senior Reporter, BBC East Midlands Today
Sangita Lal – Production Journalist, ITV News West Country
Ismail Mulla – Business Reporter, The Yorkshire Post
Sabbiyah Pervez – Communities Reporter, BBC Look North
Nitya Rajan – On-Screen Journalist, ITV News Central

Outstanding Young Journalist
Amrit Gahir – Production Journalist, ITV News Central
Manisha Ganguly – Investigative Journalist, Producer & Film-Maker
Amani Ibrahimi – Producer/Presenter, The Rundown, ITV News
Reha Kansara – Broadcast Journalist, BBC News & BBC World Service
Ravneet Nandra – ITV Meridian
Renuka Odedra – Freelance Journalist
Pria Ria – Broadcast Journalist, BBC Asian Network
Nimra Shahid – 2020 Google News Fellow & Freelance Journalist

Report of the Year
Minds On The Line
Rajiv Popat for ITV News Central

Skipping Sikh
Minreet Kaur for BBC News

Period Poverty
Gaggan Sabherwal for BBC News and BBC World Service

Nitya Rajan for ITV News Central

Acid Attack
Shabnam Mahmood for BBC News

Coronavirus Generation
Inzamam Rashid for Sky News

Radio Presenter of the Year
Anushka Arora (Sunrise Radio)
Harpz Kaur (BBC Asian Network)
Noreen Khan (BBC Asian Network)
Qasa Alom (BBC Asian Network)
Raj Baddhan (Sabras Radio)
Surjit Singh Ghuman MBE (Panjab Radio)

Best Radio Show
Breakfast with Raj Ghai – Sunrise Radio
Dipps Bhamrah – BBC Asian Network
Drive Time with Haashim – Asian Star Radio 101.6FM
Shivi On Drive Time – Asian FX Radio
The Big Debate – BBC Asian Network
Yasser – BBC Asian Network

Best Blog
Positive Solace with Attika Choudhary
Unlimited Choice – Amit Sodha
Sanjana.Feasts – Sanjana Modha-Patel
‘The Greatest Rivalry – India vs Pakistan’ – Nikesh Rughani and Aatif Nawaz for Wisden Cricket Weekly

Best Stage Production
A Kind of People
Royal Court Theatre

Homing Birds
Kali Theatre

I Wanna Be Yours
Tamasha Theatre Company

Mushy: Lyrically Speaking
Rifco Theatre Company/Watford Palace Theatre

My Beautiful Laundrette
Curve Theatre

Santi & Naz
The Thelmas

Phizzical Productions

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati & Faisal Islam.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the awards include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, & Press Association Training.

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes Into Languages North West, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, 6G Internet, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Supreme Dream Events, Payal Events & Cleartwo.