Asian Media Awards 2017: Nominations list


The Asian Media Awards 2017 finalists have been announced.

The event, which was held at ITV, The London Studios last night, was attended by finalists, judges, partners and sponsors.

Speakers on the night included, Priya Singh, Commissioning Editor, Factual at ITV, Safina Mirza, judging panel member and Head of Promotion and Project Communications at HS2, Salma & Layla Haidrani, winners of Best Blog 2013 and 2014, Sam Patel, Planning Business Director at Primesight; Professor Allan Walker, Dean of the School of Arts and Media, University of Salford and Mike Straney, Director of Major Giving at Sightsavers.

Sonia Sodha, chief leader writer at the Observer was keynote speaker.

This year’s Asian Media Awards returns to the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Wednesday 25th October 2017.

Journalist of the Year
Tazeen Ahmad
Tufayel Ahmed
Shekhar Bhatia
Nelufar Hedayat
Tanveer Mann
Kavita Puri

Best Investigation
Camber Sands Investigation – ITV Meridian
Halala: The Men Who Sell Divorce – BBC Asian Network and Victoria Derbyshire Programme
Islam’s Non-Believers – Deeyah Khan, Fuuse Films for ITV Exposure
Racist Britain: Bushra Siddiq for Channel 4 Dispatches
The Sikhs of Smethwick – Billy Dosanjh for BBC Four
The Traffickers – Nelufar Hedayat for Lightbox Media Ltd for Fusion

Regional Journalist of the Year
Anila Dhami, ITV Tyne Tees
Audrey Dias, BBC Midlands Today
Navtej Johal, BBC East Midlands
Rajiv Popat, ITV Central

Outstanding Young Journalist
Arandeep Singh Dhillon, Warrington Guardian
Shehab Khan, The Independent
Shehnaz Khan, Writer and Journalist
Monika Plaha, BBC Breakfast
Inzamam Rashid, BBC News

TV Report of the Year
Charity (Bhaarat Welfare Trust) – Sumeer Kalyani for BBC East Midlands Today
Disability Dating – By Anisa Kadri for BBC Asian Network and BBC World
Former Members of Banned Terror Group Meet at Far-Right Training Camp – By Rohit Kachroo for ITV News
India’s Partition 70 years on: ‘I killed a man’ – By Secunder Kermani for BBC
Male Honour Abuse – By Katie Razzall, Producer: Yasminara Khan for BBC Newsnight
Teesside: Can Locals and Asylum Seekers Get Along? – By Assed Baig for Channel Four

Publication of the Year

Asian Express
Asian Wealth Magazine
Eastern Eye
The Asian Today

Best Website

Best Blog
British Bindi
Halal Girl About Town
Taran Bassi

Best Video Channel
Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25th October

Radio Station of the Year
BBC Asian Network
Sunrise Radio

Regional Radio Station of the Year
Asian Star Radio 106FM
Fever 107.3FM
Sabras Radio
Sunrise Yorkshire

Radio Presenter of the Year
Anushka Arora, Sunrise Radio
Bobby Friction, BBC Asian Network
Yasmeen Khan, Talk Radio and BBC Three Counties
Kavita Kukar, Sino Radio
Nihal, BBC Asian Network and 909 Five Live
Paul Shah, Sunrise Radio

Best Radio Show
The Breakfast Show with Raj and Sonia, Sunrise Radio
Drive Time with DJ Haashim, Asian Star Radio 106FM
Mawaan and Emily, BBC Asian Network
Panjabi Hit Squad, BBC Asian Network
Shivi Hotwani, Lyca Radio
The Guz Khan Show, BBC Asian Network

Best TV Programme/Show

Ackley Bridge
My Family, Partition and Me: India 1947
Muslims Like Us
The Selfless Sikh: Faith on the Front Line
Three Girls

TV Channel of the Year
Brit Asia TV
Star Plus
Sony Entertainment Television

Best TV Character
Asim Chaudhry as Chabuddy G in People Just do Nothing
Bhavna Limbachia for Rana Nazir in Coronation Street
Adil Ray as Sadiq Nawaz in Ackley Bridge
Indira Varma as DS Nina Suresh in Paranoia

Best Stage Production

Anita and Me – Adapted by Tanika Gupta; Directed by Roxana Silbert; Based on the book by Meera Syal. The Touring Consortium Theatre Company and Birmingham Repertory Theatre
Combustion – Written and Co-Produced by Asif Khan (AIK productions); Co-Producer: Jonathan Kennedy (Tara Arts); Directed by: Nona Shepphard; Designed by Mila Sanders Featuring: Mitesh Soni; Nigel Hastings; Shireen Farkhoy; Rez Kempton; Beruce Khan
Miss Meena and the Masala Queens – Artistic Director Pravesh Kumar; Written by Harvey Virdi, Featuring: Ali Ariaie; Harvey Dhadda; Raj Ghatak. Rifco Arts and Watford Palace Theatre
Mother Tongues from Farther Lands – Written and Directed by: Sajeela Kershi; Produced by Dawinder Bansal. Featuring: Shobna Gulati, Shobu Kapoor, Shyama Pereira. (Ayesha Haziriks replaced Shyama at Southbank show); Set design by Shanaz Gulzaar. Commission from Southbank centre in partnership with Alchemy national partners: Black Country touring, cast Doncaster, and Oldham Coliseum Theatre. Working with regional South Asian women’s groups throughout its creation
Sukanya: An Opera by Ravi Shankar – Directed by Suba Das; Conducted by David Murphy. Featuring: Susanna Hurrell, Alok Kumar, Keel Watson, Michel de Souza, Njabulo Madlala. London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Opera House and Curve Theatre

Best Live Event
BBC Asian Network Comedy
Magic Lantern Festival
Partition 70 Years On

Media Agency of the Year

Alliance Advertising and Marketing
Ethnic Reach
Media Hive
Oceanic Consulting
Sterling Media

Media Professional of the Year
Arika Murtza
Govind Shahi
Sunny Suri

Creative Media Award
All Zee No Fee Campaign
Finding Fatimah Movie Campaign
‘I Am Yazidi’ Exhibition Campaign
KA Media
RIA Money Transfer Campaign

AMA Best Newcomer

Nisha Aaliya
Bhavin Bhatt
Anthony Sahota

Media Personality of the Year
Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25th October

The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film Award
Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25th October

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award
Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25th October

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!