Asian Media Awards 2016: Nominations

Asian Media Awards
Asian Media Awards

This year’s Asian Media Awards nominations shortlist has been announced at ITV, the London Studios this evening.

The Shortlist Announcement was attended by finalists and speakers from the world of journalism and entertainment.

Guests were welcomed by Asif Zubairy, ITV Commissioning Editor for Entertainment. Speaking on the night was Professor Allan Walker, Dean of the School of Arts and Media. University of Salford; Santosh Bhanot, Chair & Founder Asian Circle; Sanjay Shabi, Executive Director, MediaCom; Tez Ilyas, Comedian and Actor and one the UK�۪s newest MP�۪s Rosena Allin-Khan.

Winners and recipient of AMA special awards will be announced at the Manchester Hilton Deansgate on Thursday 27th October.

Asian Media Awards 2016: Nominations
Journalist of the Year
Mobeen Azhar
Ashish Joshi
Malik Meer
Kim Sengupta
Anita Sethi
Divya Talwar

Best Investigation
Forced Marriage Cops
Directed by Anna Hall. True Vision for
Channel 4

ISIS: The British Women Supporters Unveiled
Reported by Poppy Begum with undercover reporter ��Aisha�۪.
Produced by Jo Potts. Hardcash Productions for Channel 4

Reported by Catrin Nye for the BBC.
Films directed by Ben Lister

Still Smiling: The women fighting back after Acid Attacks
Reported by Naomi Grimley for BBC News.
Produced by Mark Georgiou with camera by Neha Sharma

The City with No Water
Reporter Fazeelat Aslam and directed by Karim Shah for the Unreported World series

The Forgotten Girls of Dhaka
Reported by Farhana Haider for BBC
World Service. Produced by Hana Walker Brown and Edited by Hugh Levinson

Regional Journalist of the Year
Arif Ansari
Rahila Bano
Sangeeta Bhabra
Aasma Day
Rajiv Popat
Balvinder Sidhu

Outstanding Young Journalist
Kaamil Ahmed
Naina Bhardwaj
Raveena Ghattaura
Sana Sarwar
Jasmine Takhar

TV Report of the Year
The Asian Women stopped from becoming councillors
BBC Newsnight

BBC Asian Network

Climate in Crisis
ITV News

Mixed Faith Marriage Protests
ITV Central

Transplants and Trafficking
BBC West and BBC One

Best Website

Best Blog
British Asian Podcast
Jay Shetty

Publication of the Year
Asian Express
Asian Wealth Magazine
Eastern Eye
Pukaar Magazine
The Asian Today

Radio Station of the Year
BBC Asian Network
Lyca Radio 1458
Sunrise Radio

Regional Radio Station of the Year
Asian Star Radio
Panjab Radio
Sabras Radio
Sunrise Yorkshire

Radio Presenter of the Year
Anita Anand
Anushka Arora
Yasmeen Khan
Tommy Sandhu

Best Radio Show
Bobby Friction
Preeya Kalidas
Noreen Khan
Shabnam Sahi
Sunny and Shay

Best TV Programme / Show
Murdered By My Father
The Asian Provocateur
Welcome to the Mosque

TV Channel of the Year
Hum TV Europe
Star Plus

Best TV Character
Qasim Akhtar as Zeedan Nazir in
Coronation Street

Asim Chaudhry as Chabuddy G in
People Just Do Nothing

Nitin Ganatra, as Masood Ahmed, in

Fiona Wade as Priya Sharma in

Best Stage Production
Bring on the Bollywood
Written and directed by S̢mir Bhamra.
Phizzical Productions

Laila: The Musical
Directed by Pravesh Kumar, Music by
Sumeet Chopra, Lyrics by Dougal Irvine
Rifco Arts / Watford Palace Theatre

Love, Bombs and Apples
By Hassan Abdulrazzak
Directed��by Rosamunde Hutt
AIK Productions & Turtle Key Arts

The Diary of a Hounslow Girl
By Ambreen Razia. Executive Director,
Jonathan Kennedy, Tara Arts. Black

Theatre Live
Wipers Written by Ishy Din and directed
by Suba Das, Curve Theatre / Watford Palace Theatre

Best Live Event
Arijit Singh Live
BBC Asian Network Live
British Asian Festival
London Asian Film Festival

Media Agency of the Year
Delicious PR
Ethnic Reach
Here & Now 365
Media Hive
Media Moguls

Media Professional of the Year
Samir Ahmed
Farzana Baduel
Natasha Mudhar
Anjna Raheja
Salim Uddin-Khandakar

Creative Media Award
Entouraaj brand events & campaigns
IP Man 3 (Ethnic Reach)

Love Thy Neighbour ��� Carlisle floods
(Penny Appeal)

Subhanallah Campaign (Islamic Relief)

The World Chat Cricket Campaign
(Here & Now 365)

#WhatIReallyReallyWant Campaign
(Sterling Media)

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!