Asian Media Awards 2014: Full nominations

Asian Media Awards 2014
Asian Media Awards 2014 (Image: Saty Singh)

The finalists of the Asian Media Awards 2014 have been announced at a prestigious event held tonight at ITV’s London studios.

The event sponsored by Asons Solicitors and the University of Salford was attended by invited finalists, partners and special guests.

Keynote speakers on the night were Yasmin Alibhai-Brown of the Independent and Asif Zubairy, ITV�۪s Commissioning Editor for Entertainment.

Nominations in 2014 aim to reward those working in journalism, television, radio, marketing and PR.

Asif Zubairy told those gathered, ���It�۪s an achievement in itself to be nominated for an award tonight and I congratulate all nominees from online, print, internet bloggers, PR experts as well as old school media like radio and TV whether you win or not. Being successful in the media requires creativity, dedication and – in my experience – a lot of long hours. In focusing on doing the best job possible, it�۪s easy to get consumed by the ideas, the look and sound of what you�۪re working on and the effect it has on the public so I�۪d just ask everyone in this room to remind the next generation of media superstars of their roots: they�۪re not just media superstars, they�۪re Asian media superstars.�۝

The 2014 Journalist of the Year category features some of the leading media professionals from across the UK. The category is made up of reporters from Sky News, The Evening Standard and the Mail on Sunday.

MediaCom and Press Association Training are supporting the event with judging panel members from Al-Jazeerah English and Blue Rubicon among others.

Investigations into child trafficking (Ross Kemp: Extreme World), the plight of asylum seekers (BBC Asian Network) and childless couples (BBC Radio 4) make up the list in this year�۪s Asian Media Awards Best Investigation category.

A special feature into the lives of first generation immigrants is also included in the list this year as is Robb Leech�۪s eye-opening film ��My Brother The Terrorist.�۪

Soap stars, Jimi Mistry, Nitin Ganatra and Chris Bisson are joined by Sunetra Sarker who plays Dr Zoe Hanna on Casualty in the Best TV Character award.

In the radio sections the BBC Asian Network again led with a number of nominations. However, there was a focus on smaller regional radio stations going above and beyond the communities they serve. Both Awaz FM Glasgow and Sabras Radio of Leicester were named in the Regional Radio Station of the Year award alongside Sunrise Yorkshire and Asian Star Radio of Slough.

Sunrise London which is looking to re-invent itself after an uncertain year is also named in the Radio Station of the Year category.

The London Indian Film Festival is included in the Best Live Event category. Two plays which aim to challenge controversial subject matters are also included. The first of which is ��Nirbhaya�۪ a stage production by Ensemble. The second is ��States of Verbal Undress�۪ by Manchester based RASA. The play is written by Rani Moorthy.

The highly contested Media Agency of the Year award features five of the UK�۪s leading PR and media agencies. 2013 winners Media Moguls are again nominated alongside Mediareach who were also shortlisted last year.

New on the list this year are Curzon PR, Spritz Creative and Here&Now365.

Four of the most innovative Asian news, entertainment and music websites are featured in our Best Website category this year. The list includes,, and

The Best Blog and Commentary category rewards four sites each catering for a range of readers. Look! A aims to celebrate Sikhs in the media. includes articles to showcase creative work by South Asians. The is a fashion and style blog and columnist Priya Mulji�۪s Blog explores issues relating to love, dating, relationships and lifestyle.

The Full Shortlist (In Alphabetical Order)

Journalist of the Year
Anushka Asthana (Sky News)
Shekhar Bhatia (Evening Standard)
Sangita Myska (BBC Radio 4)
Asjad Nazir (Eastern Eye)
Catrin Nye (BBC Asian Network)
Abul Taher (Mail on Sunday)

Best Investigation
A Family Without A Child (BBC Radio 4)
My Brother The Terrorist (Grace Productions)
Ross Kemp: Extreme World India (Freshwater Films for Sky 1)
The Detained (BBC Asian Network)
Three Pounds In My Pocket (BBC Radio 4)

Outstanding Young Journalist
Anila Dhami
Layla Haidrani
Harpreet Kaur
Rahil Sheikh

TV Report of the Year
100 Years of Bollywood (ITV Central)
Sons of Empire: First World War Commemoration (ITV Meridian)
Why Muslim Women Choose To Wear The Veil (Channel 4)

Publication of the Year
Asian Lite
Asian Today
Asian Wealth
Asian World
Eastern Eye

Best Blog & Commentary
Look! A Singh!
Priya Mulji�۪s Blog

Best Website

Best TV Character
Chris Bisson (Jai Sharma, Emmerdale)
Nitin Ganatra (Masood Ahmed, Eastenders)
Jimy Mistry (Khalid Nazir, Coronation Street)
Sunetra Sarker (Dr Zoe Hanna, Casualty)

Best TV Show
Brits Bollywood (ZING)
Broken Silence (Brit Asia TV)
Burka Avenger (Various)

TV Channel of the Year
Star Plus
Zee TV

Radio Station of the Year
Asian Star 101.6fm
BBC Asian Network
Sunrise London

Regional Radio Station of the Year
AwazFM Glasgow
Asian Star 101.6fm
Sabras Radio
Sunrise Yorkshire

Best Radio Show
Bobby Friction (BBC Asian Network)
Andy Gill (Sunrise London)
Tommy Sandhu (BBC Asian Network)
Sunny and Shay (BBC London)

Radio Presenter of the Year
Anita Anand
DJ Neev
Noreen Khan

Media Agency of the Year
Curzon PR
Media Moguls
Media Reach
Spritz Creative

Media Professional of the Year
Farzana Baduel
Tony Gill
Natasha Mudhar
Nisha Sahdev

Best Live Event
London Indian Film Festival
Nirbhaya (Ensemble)
Paul Chowdhry ��PC�۪s Worlds�۪
States of Verbal Undress (RASA)

Individual Awards
Best Video Channel
Best Social and Charitable Campaign
The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television
Media Personality of the Year
Outstanding Contribution to Media

The Asian Media Awards take place at the Hilton Deansgate Manchester on 28th October 2014.

Latest From Related Articles

Leave Comment

Please enter your name here
Please enter your comment!